Search Potomac Sites
Round Top Cement Mill
Remains of a large cement mill along the C&O Canal. The mill supplied cement used to build the U.S. Capitol dome. During the Civil War, the cement works were Hancock's largest employer, providing jobs for 100 people. The mill suffered from numerous fires until a final blaze in 1903 shuttered the doors for good. The discovery of Portland cement, stronger and slower setting, helped hasten the plant's demise. The area on the cliff above is part of Round Top Wildlife Management Area, home to a collection of rare plants and animals that thrive in this unique geologically significant part of the state. The Western Maryland Rail Trail runs alongside the canal towpath and provides access to the cement mill ruins.